HOME

BEN STORMS

 ATELIER

08.2015 Criminal (Pinewood Studios movie production), Movie

05.2014 De invasie toont, Designmuseum Gent, Ghent

05.2014 Galerie l’Eclaireur, Paris

05.2014 Design museum, Ghent & Amsterdam

04.2015 Salone Del Mobile, Palazzo Litta, Damn Magazine, Milano

12.2014 Gent Kunst, Club Social, Ghent

11.2014 Design Flanders Gallery, Brussels

10.2014 Biennale Interieur Kortrijk, Kortrijk

09.2014 Tent Londen, Super Design Gallery, London

07.2014 The Loft, The playing Circle, Amsterdam

06.2014 Meubelexpo II, vzw Zwart Wild - De meubelfabriek, Ghent

04.2014 De Invasie - Salone del Mobile, Milano

02.2014 Mechelen Meubelen 2.0 - Hof Van Busleyden, Mechelen

11.2013 Designdays, Maastricht

10.2013 Open Bedrijvendag - Lamot & Ondernemershuis, Mechelen

06.2013 Wij maken meubels, Zwart Wild - De meubelfabriek, Ghent

04.2013 Huiskamer Ernest, Ghent

CURRICULUM VITALE

 NEWSLETTER

Ben Storms started out by studying art history, then he learned how to work with stone and wood  and  finally  how  to  design  furniture.  He  became  a  designer,  combining  his  flair  for technique, his passion  for  materials and  his artistic  culture in his audacious projects. These demonstrate the will and commitment of this young designer.

 

One of his first works In Vert, created at the end of his studies, was inspired by the work of the artist Giuseppe Penone and is situated overtly in relation to the urban context. The bench is suggestive of reconciliation between the city and nature. This unique, poetic and adaptable piece draws the eye to the unlimited and changing beauty of the tree, reflected in the mirrored surface.

 

Storms explores technique and its possibilities with In Vein. He has researched the classic trestle table. The table top is made of a subtly veined marble layer and taken directly from nature, with a sheet of stainless steel, blown using pressure, which seems to take on a life of its own. Each piece is unique and encourages the user to play with the surfaces and adapt the shape to serve as a table top, or once you turn it around, as a mirror.

 

The  coffee table InHale  is  designed  like a  sculpture,  bringing together  two  forms  and  two materials  in  a  confusing  design  that  creates  a  disturbing  illusion.  It  brings  together  in  a provocative way a massive remnant piece of marble recovered from a quarry for a table top that sits on an inflated metal cushion, producing a surprising effect of lightness and fragility.

 

Ben Storms seems to like the limit between art and design. His approach, on the limits of what is possible, incites astonishment in the eyes of others, a unique way of provoking desire and InTerfere-ing in our humdrum lives.

 

Anne Bony

CRÉATIONS

In Vein

in vert

inhale

© Atelier Jespers - Erfprinslaan 149 Avenue du Prince Héritier -  Brussel 1200 Bruxelles

Contact : Jean-Francois Declercq +32 475 64 95 81- Elsa Sarfati +33 6 10 84 27 48  - jf@atelierjespers.com

ACCUEIL

BEN STORMS

 ATELIER

08.2015 Criminal (Pinewood Studios movie production), Movie

05.2014 De invasie toont, Designmuseum Gent, Ghent

05.2014 Galerie l’Eclaireur, Paris

05.2014 Design museum, Ghent & Amsterdam

04.2015 Salone Del Mobile, Palazzo Litta, Damn Magazine, Milano

12.2014 Gent Kunst, Club Social, Ghent

11.2014 Design Flanders Gallery, Brussels

10.2014 Biennale Interieur Kortrijk, Kortrijk

09.2014 Tent Londen, Super Design Gallery, London

07.2014 The Loft, The playing Circle, Amsterdam

06.2014 Meubelexpo II, vzw Zwart Wild - De meubelfabriek, Ghent

04.2014 De Invasie - Salone del Mobile, Milano

02.2014 Mechelen Meubelen 2.0 - Hof Van Busleyden, Mechelen

11.2013 Designdays, Maastricht

10.2013 Open Bedrijvendag - Lamot & Ondernemershuis, Mechelen

06.2013 Wij maken meubels, Zwart Wild - De meubelfabriek, Ghent

04.2013 Huiskamer Ernest, Ghent

CURRICULUM VITALE

 NEWSLETTER

Un  parcours  initiatique  guide  Ben  Storms  à  se  doter  d’une  connaissance  de  l’histoire  de  l’art, d’un  apprentissage  du  travail  de  la  pierre  et  du  bois  et  enfin  d’une  pratique  de  design  de mobilier.

 

Il sera designer et combine son goût pour la technique, sa passion pour les matériaux et sa  culture artistique  dans ses  audacieux projets.

 

IN marque la  volonté  et l’engagement  de  ce jeune designer.

 

Une  de ses premières œuvres In Vert, réalisée à la fin de ses études est inspirée par l’œuvre de l’artiste Giuseppe Penone et se situe dans un propos manifeste par rapport au contexte urbain. Il provoque  une  réconciliation  entre  la  ville  et  la  nature  avec  son  banc.  Cette  œuvre  poétique unique  et  adaptable,  force  le  regard  sur  la  beauté illimitée  et  changeante  de  l’arbre,  réfléchie dans la surface miroitante.

 

Le designer explore la technique et ses possibilités, avec In Vein il conduit une recherche sur la table des origines, la table à tréteaux. Il assemble pour le plateau, une feuille de marbre au subtil veinage issue de la nature, avec une feuille d’acier formée sous pression qui semble prendre vie. Chaque  œuvre  est  unique  et  incite  l’usager  à  jouer des  surfaces  et  à  s’approprier  librement  la forme en table recto-verso ou miroir.

 

La  table  basse InHale  se  compose  comme  une  sculpture,  réunissant  deux  formes,  deux matériaux  dans  une  proposition  confondante,  l’illusion  sème  le  trouble.  Il  réunit  de  façon provoquante, un bloc  de  marbre  récupéré  dans les  déchets  de la  carrière au  poids  considérable pour le plateau, avec un socle en feuille d’acier soufflé qui subjugue par l’effet de légèreté et de fragilité.

 

Ben Storms aime la limite entre le design et l’art. Par une démarche aux limites du possible, il provoque l’étonnement  et le regard de l’autre, une façon singulière de convoquer le désir et de InTerfere dans notre quotidien.

 

Anne Bony

WORKS

In Vein

in vert

inhale

© Atelier Jespers - Erfprinslaan 149 Avenue du Prince Héritier -  Brussel 1200 Bruxelles

Contact : Jean-Francois Declercq +32 475 64 95 81- Elsa Sarfati +33 6 10 84 27 48  - jf@atelierjespers.com